Melville U-12s win Weir Rosebowl

Melville U-12s have won the Weir Rosebowl for the first time.

It is a trophy which was traditionally contested at provincial level between rep teams from the northern part of the North Island, but is these days competed for by club teams.

Melville U-12s, coached by first team star Luke Searle, beat Northern United 2-1, Hamilton Wanderers 3-1, Tauranga 2-1, and Claudelands Rovers 5-1, then lost their final group game 0-3 to Blue Rovers.

In the final against Cambridge they came from 0-2 down at half time and 2-1 down in the final five minutes to claim the bowl.

Finn Bell brought Melville back into contention with a second half goal, and Asher Clark levelled before Adam Finn chimed in with a dipping volley from outside the box.

As a postscript to Melville’s success, at the clubs (senior) prizegiving Luke Searle – who has a junior level III badge – was named “Coach of the Year”. He was the first coach of a Melville youth team to win the award since Declan Edge did so in 2010.

Back row (L to R): Milad Alamshah, Matt Galletly, Asher Clark, James Wenceslao, Sterling Grant, Butros Bequain, Noah Billman, Luke Searle (coach).
Front row: Adam Finn, Aiden McKeever, Luka Vukojevic, Finn Bell, Kristian Bates, Carter Opperman, Finn McDaid.

Recent Posts