Prizegiving – The night the stars come out

Melville United’s 2017 prizegiving is set for this Friday (October 6) at The Atrium on Wintec’s central city complex (accessible off Ward St or Nisbet St), with formalities starting at 7pm.

Tickets are $20 each (or $45 a double for tight bargain-hunters) with a supper provided, and the Bouma twins, Wytse and Arran, acting as MCs.

There will be door sales but club members should be aware that CASH will be required. Those challenged by the primal concept of going out with cash in their pockets can alternately purchase tickets beforehand at the clubrooms on Thursday night.

Melville club captain Phil Wheatley also warned prizegiving was now well-established as a dress-up do, and anyone arriving looking like a cowboy, painter, or Nawton bogan risked being declined entry.

“Club administrators have gone to a great deal of effort to make this a real occasion, so it is expected that rank and file club members should make an effort as well.”

The Atrium at Melville's 2016 Prizegiving

The Atrium at Melville’s 2016 Prizegiving

Most teams will honour a player of the year, players’ player, squad member and most improved.
As well, there are the club-wide awards for coach of the year, golden boot (male and female), special achievement awards, coach of the year, club personality, and the supreme award, Club Person of the Year. Club-wide awards are voted on by the management committee, with special achievement and service awards by nomination.

In an evening that offers more awards than the Oscars, Wheatley said some were always tricky to settle upon.

“Choosing any Melville prize winner is a subjective business, but determining ‘Personality of the Year’ is perhaps the mother lode in that respect,” Wheatley said.

“How do you quantify personality? And how do we then align it to positive characteristics rather than negative?

“Psychologists use measures such as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, which scores individuals across the four bi-polar dimensions of attitude, perception, judgment and lifestyle, and whether they make decisions based on rational thought or empathic feeling.

“But it’s arguably even more complicated in the football world, where we often only see compartmentalised personalities of a club member than any holistic, rounded view of them.”

At the top end of the club, favourites for northern league Player of the Year are perhaps golden boot Marc Evans and skipper Aaron Scott.

Globetrotting Evans is returning from a successful playing spell in Rarotonga to attend the evening.

While Evans – who shared the award with Scott Hilliar in 2015 – has been prolific in front of goal, you wouldn’t bet against Scott, who won the award last year, and also in 2014, and 2007.

Marc Evans and Scott Hillar with their joint 2015 Melville Player of the Year award.

Marc Evans and Scott Hillar with their joint 2015 Melville Player of the Year award.

Should he win this year, his four titles would put him on a par with life member and first team manager Steve Bettis, who won the shield (as a Melville AFC trophy) four times between 1979 and 1986.

Scott is also eyeing his seventh Players’ Player of the Year award since his first in 2005. It has already been a memorable year for Scott, having coached Hamilton Boys High School to the national secondary schoolboys title.

Melville (1st team) men’s Player of the Year winners:

(As Melville AFC from 1975-1995 and as Melville United 1996-2016)

1975 Steve Randall
1976 Dave Smith
1977 Tony Schoen
1978 R Gilmer
1979 Steve Bettis
1980 Steve Bettis
1981 Chris Smith
1982 Ivor Clemence
1983 P Boyd
1984 Steve Bettis
1985 W Lawrie
1986 Steve Bettis
1987 P Barralet
1988 Steve Owens & Steve Ofield
1989 Wayne Gillies
1990 Chris Barakat
1991 Wayne Barton
1992 Shane Vanin & Wayne Barton
1993 Daryl Timbers & Wayne Barton
1994 Gordon Jon Thompson
1995 Neil Mouncher
1996 Jeff Sole
1997 Mark Cossey & Paul Mutter
1998 Stu Timings
1999 Simon Eady
2000 Mark Cossey
2001 Gavin Douglas & Stu Watene
2002 Gavin Douglas
2003 Josh Billman
2004 Eddie Trubshoe
2005 Michael Smith
2006 Matt Williams
2007 Aaron Scott
2008 Wayne Bates
2009 Steven Holloway
2010 Jason Chewins
2011 Gavin Douglas
2012 Jesse Edge
2013 Justin Harden
2014 Aaron Scott
2015 Scott Hilliar & Marc Evans
2016 Aaron Scott
2017 ??

Players’ Player

2005 Aaron Scott
2006 Aaron Scott
2007 Aaron Scott
2008 Jonathan Stables
2009 Steven Holloway
2010 Jason Chewins
2011 Ceri James
2012 Ryan Thomas
2013 Justin Harden
2014 Aaron Scott
2015 Aaron Scott
2016 Aaron Scott
2017 ??

Recent Posts